Skip to content

Volunteer Spotlight: Krista Green

April 21, 2013

Image

Krista Green joined us recently as a volunteer, enthusiastically providing invaluable guidance in grant-writing, brainstorming, event planning, and connecting us with the greater circle of arts organizations in Baltimore.  

 

How did you find out about Mother Made?  What aspects of the program interested you most?

I first met Hannah Brancato, of Mother Made, through a mutual friend who knew of our shared interest in starting a textile center or cooperative in Baltimore. She connected us and a few other likeminded ladies. We all started meeting about why the city needed a place to support textile artists/crafters, and how we could create one. During our discussions Hannah mentioned Mother Made and its mission.

Plans for the textile organization stalled as the lives of the group’s members pulled them in other directions. Hannah and I reconnected later at a business development seminar. There, I also met other core leaders of Mother Made, and learned about how the organization was progressing. I was very interested in what was happening, and asked if there was a way I could get involved.

Mother Made’s social mission, which encourages women to develop their entrepreneurial skills, while creating and marketing textile crafts, really resonated with me.

What is your occupation?  What experiences and skills do you share with Mother Made in your volunteerism?

I’m the Assistant Director of Cultural Affairs at the Baltimore Office of Promotion and The Arts (BOPA), the city’s arts council and producer of major civic events.  As a managing member of the Cultural Affairs Department I’m responsible for developing, approving and monitoring program budgets; overseeing departmental programs and projects, including School 33 Art Center, a contemporary art center in south Baltimore; assisting in the development and support of arts institutions, programs and individual artists through workshops, grants, fundraising, etc.; and serving as a liaison to Baltimore’s cultural organizations and Arts and Entertainment Districts. For the past 4 years I’ve served as a member of the city’s Budget Results Team – Growing Economy, responsible for reviewing city agency budgets and proposals for funding in a given fiscal year.

What do you love about Baltimore?

I’m a Baltimore native and I live in the Mt Vernon neighborhood, so I get to see firsthand how exciting and varied the cultural/artist/maker community is in the city. That’s what I love most. Not only do I live in the heart of the city’s cultural corridor, with the Walters, BSO, Lyric, Centerstage and the main branch of the Enoch Pratt Library, I’m a short walk or bus ride from MICA, Station North, Charles Village, Downtown, Fells Point, Harbor East…, and all the speaker series, gallery openings, live performances and great food I could ever want.

What makes you feel happy, excited, alive?

Being able to experience the all of the above is a pleasure. I’m also excited by producing my own textile crafts. I’ve been crocheting since I was ten, and also do a bit of sewing. Making something by your own hand is extremely satisfying. I’m learning to weave cloth on a loom, and have recently started spending time on a fiber farm to learn more about the process of ‘growing’ a fiber. These things, along with cooking, reading and learning, make me happiest.

What are your hopes for the future of Mother Made?

I would like to see Mother Made continue on its current path. Its mission and the programs in place that support that mission are solid. The organization’s recent move to a new facility offers an opportunity to expand current programming and make new connections in the community. With increased funding for those programs, to reach and teach more women, Mother Made is positioned for great success.

Thank you Krista!

Comments are closed.

